Skip to main content

Clarissa Luard Award for Independent Publishers

The Clarissa Luard Award for Independent Publishers recognises excellence and creativity in literary publishing, awarding one independent publisher from the UK or Ireland a cash prize of £10,000.

At a glance

Clarissa Luard

This biennial award is made in memory of Clarissa Luard, a literature professional and valued supporter of writers and publishers.

Shortlisted publishers

Four publishers have been shortlisted for the Clarissa Luard Award 2017. They are: Lantana Publishing, Little Toller Books, Peepal Tree Press, and Penned in the Margins.

The Judges

Meet the judges: Jenn Ashworth, Sharmaine Lovegrove, Gary McKeone and Helen Stanton.

Recognising independent publishers

The Clarissa Luard Award seeks to recognise the adventurousness, innovative spirit and creativity of independent publishing and, in particular, the ability of small publishers to support and nurture writing talent and contribute to UK and Irish literature.

Publishers are asked to write a proposal explaining how they will benefit from winning this award – this can be interpreted broadly and imaginatively. For example, the award may support the winning publisher to:

  • embark on an original project
  • contribute to the on-going development of its authors
  • support a new writer
  • assist its growth into a new area of business
  • develop knowledge and expertise
  • provide continuity during a period of change

A panel of judges drawn from literature, bookselling and publishing will select the winner.

The Clarissa Luard Award was founded in 2005 by Arts Council England, in memory of Clarissa Luard, a literature officer for the organisation. Until 2015, the awardee was selected by the winner of the David Cohen Prize. From 2017, New Writing North is managing the prize, which now has the focus of supporting independent publishing and with the winner decided by a panel of independent judges.

Publishers whose list mainly consists of literary fiction, poetry, literature in translation, graphic novels, children’s/young adult books and narrative non-fiction are eligible to apply. Narrative non-fiction is defined as fact-based books that have stylistic similarities to fiction, such as memoir and certain kinds of travel writing.

Eligibility and entry criteria

This award is now closed for entry. You can read the entry criteria here.


The winner of the Clarissa Luard Award will be announced at an award ceremony in London on 8 November 2017, alongside the announcement of the David Cohen Prize for Literature.

Sign up to our newsletter
Back to top
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.