Skip to main content

The David Cohen Prize for Literature

The David Cohen Prize for Literature is worth £40,000 and recognises a living writer from the UK or the Republic of Ireland for a lifetime’s achievement in literature.

At a glance

John S Cohen Foundation

The David Cohen Prize for Literature is funded by the John S Cohen Foundation, which was established by David Cohen and his family in 1965 to support education, the arts, conservation and the environment.

The judges

The judges of the David Cohen Prize 2017 are Kate Bassett, Gillian Clarke, Professor Simon J. James, Alan Johnson, Denise Mina and Anita Sethi.

Clarissa Luard Award

The Clarissa Luard Award, funded by Arts Council England, is given in tandem with the David Cohen Prize for Literature. In 2017, the Clarissa Luard Award will be given to an independent publisher to support new writing.

The David Cohen Prize for Literature was established in 1992 and is one of the UK’s most distinguished literary honours.

A specially selected judging panel drawn from the world of literature and criticism will choose this year’s awardee. The award cannot be applied for directly. The biennial prize is wide-ranging and has been awarded to dramatists, essayists, biographers, novelists and poets.

Mark Lawson will act as chair of the judges for his fourth term and the David Cohen Prize for Literature will be awarded in November 2017 at an event in London.

Previous winners

Further information

For any more information about the prize, please contact Laura Fraine, our Senior Marketing & Communications Manager, by clicking the button below.

Sign up to our newsletter
Back to top
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.