Skip to main content
Menu
«Read Regional

Robert Scragg: What Falls Between the Cracks

I’ve always had a soft spot for the darker characters in fiction and film, and thinking about what makes for a perfect crime is what kick-started the idea for my book. For me, exploring the ‘why’ is more interesting than the ‘how’. What makes people act the way they do, and cross lines they never thought they could? Good people sometimes do bad things and will go to extraordinary lengths to cover it up in the name of self-preservation.

My story is set in modern-day London, featuring Detectives Jake Porter and Nick Styles, who stumble upon what appears to be a crime scene that’s lain undiscovered for thirty years. A young girl had been missing since then, but nobody, not even any of her friends or family, have ever reported her missing. Porter, who’s still struggling to cope with the loss of his wife, is up against allegations of police corruption and a criminal who’s hidden in plain sight for decades, as he digs through thirty years of lies. A tragic family history begins to take on a darker twist, and there are plenty who’d rather the past stayed buried. Did she slip through the cracks to escape someone or something, or was she given a not-so-helpful shove? You’ll have to read it to find out.

Robert Scragg had a random mix of jobs before taking the dive into crime writing. He’s been a bookseller, pizza deliverer, karate instructor and football coach. His debut novel, What Falls Between the Cracks, impressed the judges at last year’s Theakstons Crime Writing Festival in the Dragons’ Pen, enough to get a thumbs-up all round.

Events

Hull Central Library,
Albion St, Hull, HU1 3TF
Wednesday 13 March, 6.30pm

Horbury Library,
Westfield Rd, Horbury, Wakefield, WF4 6HP
Friday 15 March, 11am

Acklam Library,
Acklam Rd, Middlesbrough, TS5 7AB
Tuesday 23 April, 7pm

Prescot Library,
1 Park Rd, Prescot, L34 3LN
Monday 29 April, 2pm

Birtley Library,
Durham Rd, Birtley, Chester-le-Street, DH3 1LE
Thursday 2 May, 10.30am

Bredbury Library,
296 George Ln, Bredbury, Stockport, SK6 1DJ
Tuesday 7 May, 6.30pm

Elland Library,
Coronation St, Elland, HX5 0DF
Thursday 9 May, 2.30pm

Beverley Library,
Champney Rd, Beverley, HU17 8HE
Saturday 11 May, 10am

Leeds Central Library,
Calverley St, Leeds, LS21 3AB
Monday 13 May, 6pm 

Stokesley Library,
North Rd, Stokesley, Middlesbrough, TS9 5DH
Tuesday 14 May, 6.30pm

Ramsbottom Library,
Carr St, Ramsbottom, Bury, BL0 9AE
Thursday 16 May, 7pm

Norton Library,
87 High St, Stockton-on-Tees, TS20 1AE
Monday 20 May, 6.30pm

Dalton Library,
Dalton Community Centre, 21 Nelson St, Dalton-in-Furness, LA15 8AF
Friday 7 June, 2pm

Newcastle City Library,
33 New Bridge St W, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 8AX
Monday 10 June, 5.45pm

Lanchester Library,
1 Lee Hill Ct, Lanchester, Durham, DH7 0QE
Monday 24 June, 2.30pm

Sign up to our newsletter ›
Back to top