Arts Award

What is it?

There are five different levels of Arts Award, which allow children and young people aged up to 25 to explore any art form. They are:

  • Discover
  • Explore
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold

You can do Arts Award through New Writing North’s Young Writers’ programme. We can deliver Bronze Arts Award through our Young Writers’ Groups and Gold Arts Award through our 18-25 group and Talent Fund programme. 

If you have already started doing Arts Award with another organisation or through school, New Writing North Young Writers offers loads of activities that you can use towards it. Through our Young Writers programme there are opportunities to try out new art forms, to meet writers and artists and to share your work such as through performances or publishing in a collection.

Through Arts Award, young people can:

  • experience different art forms
  • build their skills
  • share their work with audiences
  • reflect on their development.

Arts Award builds confidence and can prepare young people for further education and employment.

You can work your way through different Arts Award levels, so you might start with Arts Award Bronze and then decide to go on to Silver and Gold. However, you don’t need to do this, as each Arts Award qualification stands alone.

Arts Award is accredited by Trinity College in London and some levels are equivalent to UCAS points, so really useful if you want to apply to university.

If you would like to do Arts Award with New Writing North get in touch with us and we can point you in the direction of the right Young Writers’ Programme for you. You can contact us at [email protected], or drop in to one of our Young Writers’ Groups.