Skip to main content

Arts Award

Arts Award is a national qualification that supports children and young people to develop as artists and arts leaders, and an accreditation that is offered through the New Writing North Young Writers’ Programme.

What is it?

There are five different levels of Arts Award, which allow children and young people aged up to 25 to explore any art form. They are:


You can do Arts Award through New Writing North’s Young Writers’ programme. We deliver Bronze and Silver Arts Award through our Young Writers’ Groups and our Young Writers’ City programme and, Gold Arts Award through our Talent Fund programme.

If you have already started doing Arts Award with another organisation or through school, New Writing North Young Writers offers loads of activities that you can use towards it. Through our Young Writers programme there are opportunities to try out new art forms, to meet writers and artists and to share your work such as through performances or publishing in a collection.

Through Arts Award young people experience different art forms, build their skills, share their work with audiences, and reflect on their development. It builds confidence and can prepare young people for further education and employment. Young people can work their way through different Arts Award levels, so you might start with Arts Award Bronze and then decide to go on to Silver and Gold. However, you don’t need to do this, as each Arts Award qualification stands alone. Arts Award is accredited by Trinity College in London and some levels are equivalent to UCAS points, so really useful if you want to apply to university.

If you would like to do Arts Award with New Writing North get in touch with us and we can point you in the direction of the right Young Writers’ Programme for you. You can contact us at, or drop in to one of our Young Writers’ Groups.

Sign up to our newsletter ›
Back to top