The Announcement of the David Cohen Prize for Literature 2023

Event information

Where: Online

Date: Thursday 9 November

Time: 7:30pm

Cost: Free


Watch here

Join us on the livestream as the winner of the prestigious David Cohen Prize for Literature is revealed.

The David Cohen Prize for Literature is one of the country’s most distinguished prizes. It is worth £40,000 and recognises a living writer from the UK or Republic of Ireland for a lifetime’s achievement in literature. Former winners include V S Naipaul, Harold Pinter, William Trevor, Doris Lessing, Seamus Heaney, Hilary Mantel, Tony Harrison, Julian Barnes, Tom Stoppard, Edna O’Brien, and most recently, in 2021, Colm Tóibín.

The prize is funded by the John S Cohen Foundation and produced by New Writing North. It will be livestreamed this evening directly from the announcement in London.

No sign up required, simply click the link above to watch the livestream on the day. However if you would like to sign up for a reminder email about the event, you can do so here.

Find out more about the David Cohen Prize for Literature here.