Gordon Burn Prize 2016 shortlist announced

Posted by

We are thrilled to announce the shortlist for the Gordon Burn Prize 2016, as selected by our judges, the novelists Jenn Ashworth and William Boyd, journalist and writer Rachel Cooke, and the artist and author Harland Miller.

The shortlist for the Gordon Burn Prize 2016 is:

Jeremy Gavron, A Woman on the Edge of Time: A Son’s Search for his Mother

Olivia Laing, The Lonely City: Adventures in the Art of Being Alone

Ottessa Moshfegh, Eileen

Harry Parker, Anatomy of a Soldier

David Szalay, All That Man Is

Adrian Tempany, And the Sun Shines Now 

The prize was founded in memory of Gordon Burn, a writer who pushed the boundaries and whose work across fiction, non-fiction and journalism was bold and fearless. The prize is run in partnership by the Gordon Burn Trust, Faber & Faber (Gordon’s publisher), New Writing North and the Durham Book Festival.

The winner will be announced on Friday 7 October at the opening of this year’s Durham Book Festival. Tickets for the festival go on sale this Wednesday 10 August, and we very much hope you’ll join us.