Gordon Burn Prize 2023-24 opens for entry as judges announced

Posted by

Three leading writers and journalists will join chair Terri White to judge the Gordon Burn Prize
2023-24. The Gordon Burn Prize is one of literature’s most sought-after honours, which
recognises excellent works that are fearless in their ambition and execution.

The Gordon Burn Prize was founded in 2012 to remember the author of novels including
Alma Cogan and Born Yesterday: The News as a Novel, and non-fiction including Happy Like
Murderers: The Story of Fred and Rosemary West and Best and Edwards: Football, Fame and
Oblivion. It is run in partnership by New Writing North, Faber & Faber and the Gordon Burn
Trust, with sponsorship from Newcastle University.

The prize covers both fiction and non-fiction and seeks to celebrate the work of those who
follow in Gordon’s footsteps, identifying and celebrating brilliant writing that often blurs the
perceived boundaries between genres and finds its readers outside the mainstream.

In 2022, Preti Taneja won the prize for Aftermath, a work of narrative non-fiction that blurs
genres and form to understand terror, trauma and grief.

The 2023-24 judges are:

  • Terri White (chair), journalist, screenwriter and author of the memoir Coming Undone.
  • Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff, journalist, columnist, and editor of books including Black Joy
    and Mother Country: Real Stories of the Windrush Children.
  • Andrew Hankinson, journalist and author of Don’t applaud. Either laugh or don’t. (At
    the Comedy Cellar.) and You Could Do Something Amazing with Your Life [You are
    Raoul Moat].
  • Sheena Patel, author of I’m a Fan, member of the 4 BROWN GIRLS WHO WRITE
    writing collective, and assistant director for film and TV.

The Gordon Burn Prize 2023-24 is now open for entry until 3 August 2023. It is open to works
in English published between 1 July 2022 and 30 November 2023 by writers of any
nationality. The prize will be awarded in March 2024 in Gordon Burn’s home city, Newcastle
upon Tyne, with support from Newcastle University.

The winner of the Gordon Burn Prize 2023-24 will receive £10,000 and the chance to
undertake a writing retreat at Gordon Burn’s cottage in Berwickshire.

Find out more and enter