Northern Writers’ Awards: Digital Roadshows 2022

Each year we host a series of free Roadshow events, with expert panels offering advice for those hoping to enter into the Northern Writers’ Awards. This year the Roadshows were held online, with each panel focusing on a different aspect of the writing industry. Whether you plan to enter next year or not, the events are full of useful insight for writers at all stages, and can be watched on-demand via our YouTube channel.

Please note that these events were recorded as live Zoom webinars in early 2022. Dates and details about the awards may no longer apply.

Disability, Writing and Publishing

This Roadshow offers advice, and reflects on experiences of approaching writing, publishing and submitting for prizes as a disabled writer. The speakers draw on their own experiences as disabled writers, publishers and award-winners to unpack some of the distinctive barriers to publishing disabled writers can face, and how access needs can be met. The session is programmed and chaired by the writer Polly Atkin. Our expert speakers are Pragya Agarwal, Hannah Hodgson, Cat Mitchell and Victoria Bennett.

NWN X Arvon: Developing Your Novel in Progress

For this Roadshow, New Writing North teamed up with the Arvon Foundation to bring you an expert panel offering lots of advice about developing that novel-in-progress. Speakers are: Hellen Meller, Co-Director at Arvon’s Lumb Bank in Hebden Bridge; writers and previous NWA winners Okechukwu Nzelu and Sarah Dunnakey; and NWA Young Adult Fiction Award judge and writer Liz Flanagan. The event is chaired by Grace Keane, Programme Manager for Festivals, Events and Awards at New Writing North.

Writing for Children Roadshow

For this Roadshow, New Writing North teamed up with Hachette Children’s Group to offer expert advice from both agents and authors of Children’s literature. Speakers are Literary Agent Isobel Gahan, author and Northern Writers’ Award-winner James Harris, author and judge Michael Mann, and Hachette Senior Commissioning Editor Lena McCauley. Chaired by Rebecca Wilkie from New Writing North.

Channel 4 Writing for Television Awards Roadshow

This Roadshow introduces writers to the Channel 4 Writing for Television Awards and provides professional and creative advice to screenwriters in the North of England. The session is chaired by Will Mackie, Senior Programme Manager for Writing and Awards at New Writing North. Expert speakers include the award-winning writer and producer Kashif Boothe; writer, story consultant and award-winning producer Kathleen Beedles; the writer and 2015 Writing for Television winner, Sharma Walfall; and 2020 winner Samantha Neale, who has been working with Bonafide Films.

The Northern Writers’ Awards are produced by New Writing North with support from Northumbria University, Arts Council England and a range of industry partners. The awards support work-in-progress by writers based in the North of England.