Judges announced for David Cohen Prize for Literature

Posted by

On 15 April we held the first judges’ meeting for the David Cohen Prize for Literature.


The prize recognises the whole body of work of writers from the UK and Ireland and is one of literature’s most prestigious prizes, awarding £40,000 biennially in recognition of a living writer’s lifetime achievement. Former winners include V S Naipaul, Doris Lessing, Seamus Heaney, Hilary Mantel, and most recently, in 2017, Tom Stoppard.


The winner of the prize is nominated and selected by a panel of judges comprising authors, literary critics and academics. The 2019 judges are: Imtiaz Dharker, Viv Groskop, Kate Maltby, Jon McGregor, David Park, and Zoe Strimpel. Mark Lawson will again act as chair of the judges.


We wish them an enjoyable summer reading some of literature’s greatest contemporary works and we look forward to announcing the winner in November.


Find out more about the David Cohen Prize