Northern Writers’ Awards 2015 winners announced

Posted by

We are absolutely thrilled to let you know the winners of the Northern Writers’ Awards 2015, as selected by judges Louise Welsh, Caroline Sheldon, Daljit Nagra, Peter Wilby and Rachel Cooke.

The winners were announced at a ceremony in Newcastle last night Wednesday 24 June .There was a lot of joy in the room as the judges reflected on the tremendous quality of the work they read.

Daljit Nagra, who judged poetry submissions, said, “I found myself being constantly thrilled, moved to tears and made to laugh aloud at the range of the exciting poetic stories. I didn’t know judging could be so much fun, quite so rewarding.”

This year’s Northern Writers’ Awards are the biggest ever: 866 writers entered this year, and competition was absolutely fierce to win a share of the £46,000 prize fund. Over the coming year, New Writing North will support winners with advice, development opportunities, and in some cases mentoring or introductions to agents and publishers.

We hope you will join us in congratulating our winners:

Northern Writers’ Awards

Steve Ely

Charlotte Fairbairn

Mark Illis

Caleb Klaces

Okey Nzelu

Eileen Pun

Shelley Day Sclater

Degna Stone

Channel 4/Northumbria University Writing for Television Awards

Sharma Walfall

Nuzhat Ali

Clare Swift Short Story Award

CS Mee

Andrea Badenoch Award

Sally Jubb

Arvon Award

Sarah Wray

New Fiction Bursaries

Karen Featherstone

Martin Feekins

Amy Lord

Kay Ryder

Steve Timms

New North Poets

Kathleen Bainbridge Moran

David Borrott

Jared Carnie

Tom Cleary

James Giddings

Jasmine Simms

Young Writers’ Awards

Cuckoo Young Writers Award

Zainab Abbass

Matthew Hale Award

Jowita Krasik

Conor Robinson Award

Wyatt Sugden

The Northern Writers’ Awards are supported by Northumbria University and receive funding from Arts Council England. Other prize partners in 2015 include Channel 4, Unbound, Arvon, The Literary Consultancy, The Poetry School, and the North East Chamber of Commerce.