Northern Writers’ Awards 2016 open for entry

Posted by

The Northern Writers’ Awards 2016 are now open for entry until 11pm, Wednesday 3 February 2016. The awards offer £40,000 in cash prizes, mentoring and support to talented writers based in the North of England.

Northern Writers’ Awards are for work-in-progress and are available to writers at all stages of their careers. They have been awarded to 197 writers since they were founded by New Writing North in 2000. Recent winners include Andrew McMillan, Carys Davies, Zaffar Kunial, Benjamin Myers and Toby Martinez de las Rivas.

New awards for 2016 include a Channel 4 television award for prospective writers of children’s drama, as well as a new award for students and graduates of Northumbria University.

Find out more about each award and details of how to apply by going to the Northern Writers’ Awards website.