Winners announced for Northern Writers’ Awards 2017

Posted by

We are delighted to announce the 27 winners of the Northern Writers’ Awards 2017, who between them share an award fund worth £43,000 in cash prizes, bursaries and developmental support.

The awards were presented on Thursday 29 June at a ceremony in Newcastle. We had more than 1200 entries for the awards this year, so the winners fought off some really stiff competition to impress our judges, the literary agent Elise Dillsworth, authors Juno Dawson and Richard T Kelly and poet Clare Pollard, along with editor and journalist Peter Wilby (judge of the Clare Swift Short Story Award) and writers Debbie Taylor and Margaret Wilkinson (judges of the Andrea Badenoch Fiction Award).

We hope you will join us in congratulating our Northern Writers’ Awards winners 2017:

Northern Writers’ Awards for Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction

Alison Armstrong (Lancaster)
Yvonne Battle-Felton (Lancaster)
Emily Devane (Ilkley)
Richard Smyth (Shipley)

Northern Writers’ Awards for Children’s and Young Adult Fiction

Clare Bell (Northwich, Cheshire)
Françoise Harvey (Darlington)

Northern Writers’ Awards for Poetry

Niall Campbell (Leeds)
Vidyan Ravinthiran (Durham)

Waterhouse Award

Rachael Allen (Leeds)

Arvon Award

Sophie Parkes (Mossley, Gtr Manchester)

Clare Swift Short Story Award

Anton Rose (Durham)

Northumbria University Student and Alumni Award

Heather Askwith (Gateshead)

TLC New Fiction Reads

Laura Bui (Liverpool)
Tawseef Khan (Manchester)
Karen Powell (York)

Andrea Badenoch Fiction Award

Karon Alderman (Newcastle upon Tyne)

Northumbria University/ Channel 4 Writing for Television Awards – serial drama

Andrew Turner (Bolton)

Northumbria University/ Channel 4 Writing for Television Awards –
television drama

Alex Clarke (Sale, Gtr Manchester)

Poetry School New North Poets Mentoring Scheme

Jasmine Chatfield (Manchester)
Michael Brown (Middlesbrough)
Rosa Walling-Wefelmeyer (Durham)
Elizabeth Gibson (Wigan)
Maria Isakova-Bennett (Liverpool)

Cuckoo Young Writers Awards

Winner: Eloise Unerman (Rotherham)
Highly commended: Grace Middleton (Newcastle)
Highly commended: Holly Cartwright (York)

Matthew Hale Award

Julia Coyle (Leeds)